DCU lose out despite Hogan factor

Despite a debut from five-time All-Ireland champion and one-time All Star Richie Hogan, the DCU senior hurlers lost out to Dublin rivals DIT by a scoreline of 3-24 to 2-15 last Tuesday afternoon in Grangegorman. For most of the game there was little to separate the sides, but a final ten-minute scoring spree from DIT saw them eclipse DCU, outscoring them 2-04 to a single point.

DCU got off to a great start, rushing into the lead in the opening ten minutes. Some wasteful efforts however allowed DIT to get back into the game and they never let go of their lead. Goalkeeper Aaron Lacey made a brilliant save midway through the first half to put a limit to DIT’s increasing scoreline, while Wexford native Padraig Bolger scored a much-needed goal for the visiting side to leave it 0-12 to 1-07 at the end of the first half.

The early stages of the second half were tightly contested and the score difference remained the same before DIT’s Niall McMorrow took a 21-yard free that found the bottom corner of Lacey’s net. DCU were quick to retaliate and Galway’s Shane Divilly returned the score at the opposite end of the pitch, leaving three points between the sides again. DIT then played a stunning final ten-minute spell during which they totally eclipsed DCU, outscoring them 2-04 to a single point. At this late stage, there was no way back.

Padraig Breheny had a huge influence on the game for DCU, scoring five points from play. Hogan was also on target and hit six points, three of which came from frees. Meanwhile in defence, Ross Mullins and Niall Walsh were both impressive and helped keep a cap on DIT’s scoring threat.

The senior hurlers now face UCD in the second round of the Division One Hurling League on Thursday at 2pm.

Speaking about the upcoming game, manager Paul O’Brien said: “We’re looking forward to it. We’re training well and should be in a good position for it. It’ll be a good game.”

DCU: Aaron Lacey; John Whelan, Ross Mullins, Niall Walsh; Ger Grace, Willie Lowry, Peter Gill; John Bridgeman, David Galway; Padraig Breheny, Richard Hogan, Padraig Bolger; Cillian Egan, Alan Cormican, Cathal Curran.

DIT: Finn McGarry; Michael O’Donohue, Ger McManus, Owen Small; Kieran Bergin, Liam Rushe, Frankie Power; Ciarán Kellett, Stephen Morris; Joe McManus, Mike Moloney, Anthony Ryan; Ciarán O’Shea, Niall McMorrow, Oisín Boland.

Anita McSorley

Image Credit: Sportsfile

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.