Camogie and Men’s Soccer honoured at Sports Club Awards

DCU’s sport clubs and their members were recognised for their achievements off and on the field at the 20th Annual Sports Club Awards. The ceremony, which is held in conjunction with the Club Life Committee, was held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel with over 300 in attendance and was hosted by DCU alumni Damien Mc Evoy.

The Men’s Soccer Club won the Team of the Year Award in light of this season’s unprecedented success, which included reaching a CUFL Premier League final and the semi-final of the Collingwood Cup. Manager Declan Roche and his assistant John Russell were presented the award by Rugby Development Officer, Phil de Barra.

Soccer Development Officer Fran Butler, also in attendance as a presenter, was happy to see the club receive the honour for the first time during his tenure. “I was surprised when we were shortlisted, so when we won I was delighted. With the GAA so strong, for the soccer team to win, it’s a big deal. We’ve done really well and it’s great that the CLC have recognised that – they’ve given us great support,” he said.

The Camogie Club took the Club of the Year Award in recognition of the work done by Chairperson Aisleen Ní Shíocháin; Secretary Lisa Carey, and Treasurer Emma Brennan. Off the field, the club was responsible for the consistently popular “Mr DCU”, while on the field the last two years have been bountiful. The Purcell Cup was retained in February and, in the league, the side have contested a final and semi-final in 2012 and 2013 respectively.

The Boxing Club won the Most Promising Club Award, which was made all the more impressive by the fact that club was non-existent due to lack of funds when Treasurer Terry Keane took over in September. Keane’s work was duly noticed, and he took the award for Male Fresher, with the Women’s Rugby Club’s, Niamh Griffin getting the female equivalent. The Surf N’ Sail Club won the award for Communications and Marketing.

Sport Scholar of the year – an award for DCU athletes on scholarship, went to Equestrian, Alex Donahue. Donegal’s All Ireland winning captain, Michael Murphy won the Sports Personality of the year, and the award for Excellence in Coaching went to Mere Baker, for her work with the Women’s Rugby Team.

Clubs and individuals can nominate themselves or be nominated by another club. Award winners are decided by a five-member selection panel consisting of staff from the Office of Student Life and the University.

Tom Rooney

Image Credit: Conor Palin-Stewart

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.